Skip to Content
  1. Home
  2. >
  3. About Us

About Us

About Us

The Central Ontario Musicians' Association (COMA), Local 226 is a professional association of musicians in the central Ontario region. It is Local 226 of the Canadian Federation of Musicians. We are part of over 32,000 Canadian musicians from coast to coast.

The Federation and Local 226 are member-driven organizations that work for the benefit of member musicians. Local 226 was organized January 2, 1906. We encompass all areas of the music business. Our musicians (and other AFM members) are the musicians you see playing in concert halls, theatres, night clubs and private parties.

AFM Mission Statement

Area of Jurisdiction

Each CFM Local is responsible for a musicians and engagements occurring within a specific geographic area.
The area over which COMA (CFM Local 226) has jurisdiction is as follows:

The Regional Municipality of Waterloo, the counties of Wellington, Dufferin, Grey and all of Oxford County except Tillsonburg and Tavistock, Embro, Lakeside, and Uniondale (which are in the jurisdiction of Local 418, Stratford, Ont., Canada). Also, that portion of Bruce County north of Highway 21 between Southampton and Owen Sound (excluding Southampton, which is in the jurisdiction of Local 418, Stratford).

All musicians residing in the above area are encouraged to be members of Local 226.  

Contracts for all engagements within the Local's jurisdiction must be filed with Local 226.